Stellar Reviews for Stealing Time

 

 

Reviews of Stealing Time From Amazon and Amazon UK

 

Total Ratings (as of Nov 2015) 4.9 on out of 5.0 stars on US site, and 4.9 on UK site.

 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

This is the best book I have read in a long time.

By Michele Carter on October 3, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

This is the best book I have read in a long time. I completely recommend reading it. I simply couldn't put it down and stayed up all night to read this very well written gripping tale of time travel. The descriptions of a by-gone era in combination with a modern mind in such times were very thoughtfully developed and put together. She had me on the edge of my seat, yelling at the screen and totally involved in this world. The ramifications of time travel and the science required to make such a thing occur fits in a nicely done up and realistic manner. She will have you rooting for the heroes all the way until the bravest cliff-hanger end I ever seen used. Awesome job, now I am left wanting and drooling until the next one comes out just to see what happens next. Congratulations on a job well done.

 

 

5 Stars

By m.e.s. on 29 Dec. 2014

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Stealing Time is everything I expected and more! A fascinating story-line, a cast of engaging characters that feel very much alive and compel you to love them or hate them and a well researched historical journey.


All in all, a delightful book that kept me captive from cover to cover.
 

Two thumbs up from me for the debut novel of KJ Waters and I can't wait to read the next one from this promising author.

 

 

 

5 Stars By Simon on 11 March 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Loved this, whilst most is set in an era of London I wasn't that interested in, I was quickly hooked. The story is fantastic, and characters engaging... love or hate them, I wanted to keep reading.
A well written original story from a female's perspective in an unforgiving time. I recommend to all.
Can’t wait for more, and can't believe is her first novel! Keep writing please!

 

 

5 Stars Stealing Time is a fast-paced and at times hilariously funny yarn about the awful things faced by a modern ...

By Nina Smith on January 8, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Stealing Time is a fast-paced and at times hilariously funny yarn about the awful things faced by a modern woman when she is ripped from her own time and plunged into eighteenth century London and the life of a stranger - only to fall foul of an amoral gentleman, crooked priests, lecherous old men and more, with only a (decidedly hot) German in-law to help her out of a situation nobody understands.

Sometimes historical fiction conveniently ignores the ickier parts of life in the past, leaving it a little bit wanting in gritty detail and believability. Not so Stealing Time: Waters has done her research, and heroine Ronnie is spared no discomfort as she negotiates all those things we take for granted, like dental hygiene and the lack of toilet paper, adding some unexpected touches that help us to identify with Ronnie and reinforce her modernness in a most alien setting.

Stealing Time gets pretty dark in places too - let's just say Ronnie is not in the past of her own free will, and she can be pretty blind about the company she keeps.

Stealing Time is a great read, and I'm looking forward to Book 2.

I was provided with an ARC copy of Stealing Time in return for an honest review.

 

 

4 Stars Great Debut Novel

By Carlie Cullen on July 18, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

I was intrigued by the blurb on this book, especially as it mentioned Hurricane Charley which I experienced in 2004, so although it’s not the sort of book I would normally read, I was interested enough to give it a go and I’m glad I did.

The concept of the plot was very original and I liked the way Waters constructed the method for the time travel to take place. She weaved the plot well and it certainly kept me turning the pages. KJ had certainly done her research about London and the time period. Factually it was very accurate, especially when it came to how women were treated more as chattels to be sold into a loveless marriage to advance the standing or financial position of the family. She’d also done her homework on what happened to women who were accused of witchcraft. The detail she included gave the reader an accurate picture, but I’m glad to say there wasn’t an info dump. The author intertwined it with the plot so it read as a natural progression within the story.

The detail included in the hurricane scenes was scarily realistic. Trees crashing through roofs, bringing down power lines, loss of power and water – these were all things I remembered only too well!

The main character, Ronnie, was well crafted. She had depth, was realistic, and relatable. When Ronnie became Regina, after the time travel incident, the confusion and desperation she felt was palpable – something which isn’t easy to achieve without over-emphasising. However, the author accomplished it with ease. I enjoyed the blossoming love between Ronnie/Regina and Matthias and I hope they meet again in the future. Matthias was the perfect gentleman, perhaps a little too perfect, but I liked him just the same. Jack, Regina’s brother, on the other hand, was a monster and I had a hard time believing parts of his story. I couldn’t understand how a man could treat his sister in such a horrendous way and then denounce her as a witch and all because she didn’t encourage the suitor of an arranged marriage. It seemed to me that his behaviour was way too extreme for the circumstances, which made his character less realistic.

The supporting cast were well thought out and, for the most part, likeable. Jeffery wasn’t a character I warmed to, probably because he used Ronnie for his own ends and was cheating on her too. Those directly involved in the Hurricane Charley part of the story showed myriad emotions and reacted as most people would under the same circumstances; this was very well done. I particularly liked the two main characters in this section.

The writing flowed nicely, the story lines were easy to follow, and the descriptions of places and events were extremely well written, without going over-the-top.

My only real criticism was that the proof reader didn’t do the greatest of jobs, which lost it a star from me. However, this didn’t spoil my enjoyment too much. Overall, this was a page turner for me; I found myself invested in the story and characters to the extent that I really want to get my hands on book two. For a debut novel, I would have to say this is one of the best I’ve read in a while and would definitely recommend it.

I received a free copy of this book in return for an unbiased and honest review.

 

4 Stars Very Good Read -

By Debra A. Pangborn on July 11, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Very interesting story that takes you from the present back to the 1700's. I sure learned a lot about those 1700 times! Yikes!! Sure happy we don't live in those times! No mercy LOL. At many points this book keeps you literally on the edge of your seat! Going back and forth from the times was done in an understandable way so it's an easy and exciting read. Can't wait for the sequel :)

 

 

5 Stars Better than Lions & Tigers & Bears - But: OH MY!!

By D. Bratcher on December 24, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Yay - a real PAGE TURNER! I love to find books that keep me interested in every character, every scene, every chapter: I can't wait for the next book to find out more about these people. I am glad I live in the time period I live in, I'll tell you that! This is a GREAT first novel!! MORE, PLEASE.

 

 

5 Stars The hands down best book I have read in quite some time.

By Scott Mclean on January 12, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Absolutely wonderful read only put it down when I had to, K J Waters has struck the perfect balance of science fiction, historical fact thriller with a wonderful sense of humor and even a little romance. I highly recommend that you stop what you're doing and pick up this book. I can't wait for the next book. Talent, talent, talent 😁😁😁

 

 

5 Stars Breathtaking read!

By Jaye Marie on April 8, 2015

Format: Paperback

 

The first book in this trilogy opens with an idiot thinking he could outwit Hurricane Charley. Breathless opening sequence as the storm seeks him out, followed by an accurate and disturbing description of what happens to somebody caught in a hurricane.

This storm affects the people in this story very differently. Ronnie, the female lead, is somehow transported back to the eighteenth century. She feels the same but looks very different, and in this strange antiquated world, she has an angry and violent brother.

 

There turns out to be a very good reason for her transportation, and it has a lot to do with a bracelet she wears. I loved the way the author makes us jump through time and back again, as we keep track of the storyline.

Going back in time is usually portrayed as an exciting occurrence, but not in this book. Ronnie has never been treated so brutally before, and the bloodletting scenes are brilliantly written. It’s not just Ronnie who has been misplaced, parts of history are not right either.

This book has it all. Mysterious circumstances, violent characters, historical facts, and more than a touch of the supernatural. Our heroine is subjected to an arranged marriage, a witch hunt and a little romance along the way. Her life is threatened more than once, and her struggle to live will leave you breathless.

 

5 Stars Super time travel book, especially if 18th century England interests you

By Graeme Ing on February 11, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Roller coaster of a book that had me hooked. The 18th century London scenes are very well researched and written, and authentic in every detail. I really felt the past come alive. From the very beginning things go awry, and I was constantly wondering how the heroine was going to get herself back to the present. Great historical characters that were truly believable and in many cases hateful and cruel. I guess those were tough times!

Things just keep going from bad to worse. Waters mastered the pacing, drama and tension wonderfully. So many times I thought the worst was over for Ronnie and she landed right back into danger. Great story, right up to the end, and a fascinating hint at a mystery that will probably pan out in the sequels.

Super time travel book, especially if 18th century England interests you. Buy it.

 

 

5 Stars By Amazon Customer on 21 Dec. 2014

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

This is an electricity driven tour de force of a novel. The characters are completely believable and draw the reader in, to such an extent, they will not want to leave until the astonishing conclusion of this amazing book!
If you only buy one book per year, Stealing Time by the incomparable KJ Waters, is the book to buy!

 

 

5 Stars By Chante Judy on January 10, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Non-stop action had me holding my breath!!! Fantastic, believable story written with a talented descriptive style. I loved the historical tidbits incorporated into the story flawlessly! A smooth thrill that has me anxiously awaiting Book 2.

 

 

5 Stars

By Frank on January 2, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Incredible story, draws you in. First Kindle purchase and well worth it. #mustread & re-read!

 

 

5 Five Stars

By Connie Goen on January 4, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Kept my interest the entire book. Wasn't ready for it to end. Can't wait for sequel!

 

 

5 Stars Great storyline - keeps you engaged at all times

By Diana Marinova on June 23, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Great book to kill some time - the story definitely draws you in. I have read a few blog posts by the author and I liked her writing style, that's why I got the book. But When I bought the book, I didn't realize it's a trilogy, only the first part of which was published. I'm waiting for books 2 and 3 to learn the whole story and what happens to the main characters after all.

 

5 Stars Very good read! I was hooked at the prologue

By David on January 6, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Very good read! I was hooked at the prologue and kept me riveted till the last page and that's saying something for me believe me! Can't wait for book 2! The books description above is very accurate - Worth a second read before book 2 comes out. I highly recommend!

 

5 Stars CAN'T PUT IT DOWN" Kind of book.....

By Stacey on July 7, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

"I can't put it down" kind of book!!! What a great story - full of adventure, danger, suspense and romance! My emotions ebbed and flowed with the characters. I can't wait for BOOK 2.....

 

 

5 Stars A must read... gripping, fast paced --can't stop reading

By Andre J. Lachance on April 23, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

You have to read this. A gripping story that I can't put down. Clever adventures into other time periods and cultures that really made me appreciate my life.

Excellent read, strange twists and turns. I never could figure what was to come next. Can’t wait for the next book!

 

5 Stars By Rick Stall on April 19, 2015

Format: Paperback

I love a great mystery! This one had me spellbound, the possibilities of time travel are mystifying. I can’t wait for the sequel!

 

4 Stars Good read.

By Anonymous on May 29, 2015

Format: Paperback

 

Good read. Glad I took a chance on it. I'll probably check out the sequel.

 

5 Stars GREAT BOOK!

By KSCANT on February 25, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Excellent book! I loved it!

 

Great Original Story

 

Five Stars

By Robert Overy "Dogses" on 5 January 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

 

Brilliant, a can't put down.

 

5 Stars Blown away!!!

By mR mE on December 24, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

 

Man I'm amazed by the literal skill that KJ displays in this wonderful and gripping novel, I await book 2 with baited breath!!!

A smooth thrill that has me anxiously awaiting Book 2

 

KJ Waters is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Blogger Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • RSS Social Icon